Michenfelder Award

The John D. Michenfelder New Investigator Award – 2017

Congratulations to Mengyuan Peng, MD
Zhongshan Hospital, Fudan University
For the abstract “Upregulation of GLT-1 in Astrocytes via PI3K/Akt Pathway May Be Involved in Dexmedetomidine Induced Neuroprotection.”

Photo: From left to right, Mengyuan Peng, MD and Alana Flexman, MD

Past Awardees:

2016 – Luedi, Markus, MD Bern University Hospital, Switzerland For the abstract “A Dexamethasone-regulated Gene Signature is Prognostic for Poor Survival in Glioblastoma Patients”

2015 – Nan Lin, MD Beijing Tiantan Hospital, Beijing, China for the abstract “Mild Sedation Exacerbates or Unmasks Focal Neurologic Function in Neurosurgical Patients with Supratentorial Brain Mass Lesions in a Drug Specific Manner”

2014 – Junji Egawa, MD University of California, San Diego for the abstract “Neuron-targeted caveolin-1 remodels hippocampal neurons and enhances hippocampal plasticity and cognition”

2013 – Bradley Lee, MD, University of California, San Francisco, Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care for the Abstract “Neonatal Isoflurane Exposure Impairs Memory in Male But Not Female Rats”

2012 – UnCheol Lee, PhD, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI for the abstract “Effects of Ketamine on Feedforward and Feedback Connectivity in Humans”

2011 – Eric Schnell, MD, PhD, Portland VA Medical Center, Portland, OR for the Abstract “Neuroligin Overexpression Drives Synapse Formation During Adult Hippocampal Neurogenesis.”

2010 – Matthew L. Pearn, MD, University of California San Diego, for his paper entitled “Propofol Neurotoxicity is Mediated by p75 Neurotrophin Receptor Anesthetic Neurotoxicity”

2009 – Michael L. James, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Duke University, for his paper entitled “Brain Natriuretic Peptide Improves Long-Term Functional Recovery After Acute CNS Injury in Mice.”

2008 – Alexander Zlotnik, MD, University of Washington, Department of Anesthesiology, Seattle, WA
“Effect of Maleate on Blood Scavenging Activity and Neurological Outcome in Closed Head Injury in Rats”

2007 - Andrew V. Dao, MD, VA Medical Center, University of California, San Diego, CA
“Effect of Dexmedetomidine on CBF Velocity, Cerebral Metabolic Rate and CO2 Response in Normal Humans”

2006 – Ines P. Koerner, MD, PhD, Oregon Health and Science, University, Portland, OR
“Polymorphisms in the Human Soluble Epoxide Hydrolase Gene (EPHX2) Linked to Neuronal Survival after Ischemic Injury”

2005 – Chanannait Paisansathan, MD, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL
“CSF S100B Related to Vasospasm in Patients Undergoing Intracerebral Aneurysm Clipping Surgery”

2004 – Olaf L. Cremer, MD, University Medical Center, Utrecht, The Netherlands
“Effect of Intracranial Pressure Monitoring and Targeted Intensive Care on Functional Outcome after Severe Head Injury”

2003 – Satoki Inoue, MD, Nara Medical University, Kashihara, Nara, Japan
“Isoflurane and Caspase 8 Inhibition Reduce Cerebral Injury in Rats Subjected to Focal Cerebral Ischemia”

2002 – Kirstin E. Erickson, MD, Mayo, Rochester, MN
“Anesthestic Technique Influences Brain Temperature, Independent of Core Temperature, during Craniotomy in Cats”

Mission: The Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care, in its efforts to encourage anesthesiology residents, fellows, and junior faculty to become more involved in the Society, is excited to offer the John D. Michenfelder New Investigator Award.

This award is presented annually to the resident, fellow or starting junior faculty whose research exemplifies the Society’s mission of improving the art and science of neurosurgical anesthesia, and the care of the critically ill, neurologically impaired patient.


  1. Member of SNACC
  2. Resident, Fellow, or Junior faculty at the time of the award and is within three years of the end of training
  3. Must have already submitted an online abstract for presentation at the SNACC Annual Meeting

Selection Process: Recipient of the award is chosen by the SNACC Scientific Affairs Committee after careful review of each manuscript submitted for consideration.

The recipient of this award will receive:

  • Plaque of recognition
  • Opportunity to make an oral presentation at the SNACC Annual Meeting
  • Recognition on the SNACC Website